If working on your own desktop or laptop computer you can select "This is a private computer".
- Your log on username will be saved for you.
- You'll be able to save file attachments.
If working on a any shared computer in a public space, you should select "This is public or shared computer."
- No log on information will be saved.
- You will be unable to access email attachments.
If you select "This is a private computer" your Ecommons Username will be saved for you. Your password will not be saved as this constitues a security risk. Even using a private computer, it is more secure to enter your password each time you log on.
During the Exchange 2007 upgrade, anyone with a POP client who has messages stored on both the server and locally will have their messages duplicated. To prevent this it is necessary to delete all messages from the server before the upgrade occurs. If coping with duplicate messages won't bother you, you need to do nothing. Otherwise, follow the instructions of how to correct this issue for Mail.app on Mac, Eudora on Mac and PC, and Outlook on PC. If you're using any other client and do not know how to remove all your mail from the server, contact your Client Services Representative.
When composing a message in OWA, you can click the Options... button which will display two Tracking Options:
- Request a delivery receipt if you want to be notified that the message has reached the recipient's Inbox
- Request a read receipt if you want to be notified that the recipient has opened or viewed the message.
Click OK to save tracking options selections and send the message.
When the message has been received and/or read, you'll get a message from the System Administrator letting you know that the message has been delivered and/or read.
Copyright 2013 by the President and Fellows of Harvard College.
Site Updated: 5/17/2013